Note Well:
This blog is intended for rational audiences. Its contents are the personal opinions of its author. If you quote from this blog, which you
may do with attribution, please assume personal accountability for any consequences of mischaracterizing these expressed intentions.

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Monday, February 20, 2017

Sunday, February 19, 2017

Where's the nuance?

Ironically, "fake news" is itself a fake epithet, because it is not a binary concept. Despite the black and white origins of mainstream media, the world we live in has always been revealed to us in a spectrum of colors. In reportage, such a spectrum should be provided by nuance. Hence, "fake news" is not entirely fake, in that there is usually (though not always) a smattering of truth to it, although whatever truth factor exists is often slathered by hyperbole.

Unfortunately, nuance in global "news" reportage is rapidly vanishing. It is being subsumed by hyperbole. There are no longer any comparatives; everything is superlative: all/none; best/worst; black/white; biggest/smallest; darkest/brightest. Where's the nuance?

Just a few examples from recent headlines:
Apparently, according to today's news reportage, we don't need no stinkin' nuance. I beg to differ. Without nuance, it's not news. It's just propaganda.

Post 3,354 Where's the nuance?

Friday, February 17, 2017

Lauterbrunnen Valley

Rule #6: Everybody loves a spectacular view!


Switzerland by Andrej Bazanov on 500px.com
Switzerland by Andrej Bazanov on 500px.com


Post 3,352 Lauterbrunnen Valley

Thursday, February 16, 2017

Beautiful Coloration

Rule #6: Everybody loves a spectacular view!


Moody forest! by Patrice Thomas on 500px.com
Moody forest! by Patrice Thomas on 500px.com


Post 3,351 Beautiful Coloration

Monday, February 13, 2017

Sunday, February 12, 2017

Friday, February 10, 2017

Kodak Gap

Rule #6: Everybody loves a spectacular view!


Lemaire Channel by Daniel Kordan on 500px.com
Lemaire Channel by Daniel Kordan on 500px.com


Post 3,345 Kodak Gap

Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Monumental Old Ones

Rule #6: Everybody loves a spectacular view!


Fairy Funshine by Lars van de Goor on 500px.com
Fairy Funshine by Lars van de Goor on 500px.com


Post 3,344 Monumental Old Ones

Tuesday, February 7, 2017

Saturday, February 4, 2017

Friday, February 3, 2017